The Johnny Possum Band


We have a very large announcement to make and one that has been a few months (maybe years) in the making. We are renaming ourselves as a band. This is for a couple of reasons.
First, it is unfortunate, but true, that some people judge a book by its cover (or a band by its name), and we have failed to get gigs and other opportunities because we have the word Possum in our band name. People automatically assume we are some strange hillbilly band (which to be fair, we once were).
Second, over the past ten years we have had several line-up changes and we have also changed/grown as musicians, and what we once were, we are no longer as a band. Our style of music has changed from straight bluegrass and old timey, to more Folk/Kiwiana/Americana/alt-country, and it is time to launch ourselves under a new name.
We thought about simply changing the band name of The Johnny Possum Band but that means it would disappear and we are proud of the 10 years we have spent playing in this band so its Facebook page and website will stay as a tribute (and who knows what will happen in the future).
We invite you to go to our new Facebook Page for The Bristol Dollar and LIKE it to stay up to date with what The Bristol Dollar is up to. Simply click the link below to go to the Facebook page.
Thank you for your support over the years and we look forward to seeing you soon as The Bristol Dollar – Bryz, Bex, Jonno and Sean.


Love & Truth

The Johnny Possum Band released their 6th CD ‘Love & Truth’ in 2014 – 11 tracks featuring 8 originals and 3 covers it marks a more mature Folk/Country sound, a slight change in lineup and a lot of music sure to please.

Available now from all good digital stores – just search your favorite provider.

Love and Truth








Love & Truth performed at the WDVX Blue Plate Special in Knoxville, TN

Here we are performing ‘Sleeping in Your Grave’ at the Blue Plate Special in Knoxville, TN

Time to Fold at the WDVX Blue Plate Special

Here is a lyric video for the title track ‘Love & Truth’


Full Discography:

  • Tickets [2007]
  • Twister [2008]
  • Live at the Harbour Light CD [2009]
  • Live at the Harbour Light DVD [2009]
  • High Lights 2005-2009 [2010]
  • Short Summer [2012]
  • Short Summer: The Mayes Mix [2014]
  • Love & Truth [2014]